Board of Directors

Mr Duncan MacCallum

Independent Chair & Director

Bachelor of Science (University of Melbourne), Diploma of Education
(University of Melbourne)

Duncan has over 30 years of experience as an educator, business leader, Board Chairman and Board Advisor. Duncan provides leadership in diversity, innovation and quality education and business outcomes. He has served on a number of Boards as a Non-Executive Director focusing on leadership, innovation and quality governance.

Mr Graham Lanphier

Independent Director

Master of Business Administration (Monash University), Bachelor of Surveying (University of Melbourne)

Graham has served as a strategic executive leader in a number of large organisations, including as the Managing Director of SMS Management & Technology. SMS Management & Technology is Australia’s largest management consulting company listed on the ASX. He is an experienced, Senior Executive with a proven record in driving and delivering improved business performance through effective strategy and execution, general management, project management and strategic leadership within the professional services and public sectors. A natural leader with an enthusiastic approach, a can-do approach to solving business problems, and excellent mentoring capability.

Professor Archie Johnston

Independent Director

Doctor of Philosophy , Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering  

Archie served as Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Information Technologies from 2009 until 2017.
As Dean, his career followed a natural progression from active researcher to academic leader, setting the agenda for engineering and technical education and policy at one of Australia’s leading engineering faculties.
From 2004 to 2009 he was cited as one of Australia’s 100 most influential engineers and in 2007, was honoured as the Sir John Holland Civil Engineer of the Year and Entrepreneurial Educator of the Year of the Business and Higher Education Roundtable.
He is a Fellow of Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), Engineers Australia, the Institution of Civil Engineers (London) and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.
In addition to being Chair of the Education Forum of ATSE, he is an Advisor to the Reliance Group of India, Advisor to the Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India, Lifetime Advisory Professor to Shanghai Jiao Tong University (China), Honorary Professor to Tianjin University (China), and is past National Chair of the Centre for Leadership and Management (Engineers Australia).Professor Johnston was formerly a director of the Warren Centre for Advanced Engineering, Smart Services CRC and CRC for Advanced Composite Structures, and an independent expert for the Cooperative Research Centres Selection Round (2011).
A former President of the Australian Council of Engineering, He has been Dean of Engineering at the University of Technology, Sydney and is an Emeritus Professor at that institution.
He has been Peer Reviewer for the 2010 Excellence in Research for Australia, a member of the Judging Panel of 2010, 2011 and 2012 Prime Minister’s Science Prizes and Chair of the Judging Panel for the 2009 Australian Construction Achievement Awards.

Dr Michelle Lac

Non-Executive Director

PhD (Swinburne University of Technology), Bachelor of Information Technology (Swinburne University of Technology), Graduate and Member of Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD), Certified Practicing Project Director of Australian Institute of Project Management (AIPM), Registered Program and Project Management (PPM) Consultant

Michelle is passionate about innovation, education and technology. She strives to make a contribution to the community by sharing her skills and experience as a Board Director, Educator and Business Leader. She have professional experience which spans over 19 years in higher education teaching and research, management consulting professional services and serving on not-for-profit boards. She was a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD) and holds a Bachelor of Information Technology. She completed her PhD research in Mobile Learning with Swinburne University. This research is sponsored by Australia’s Information Communications Technology (ICT) Research Centre (Data61 part of CSIRO) – the nation’s largest organisation dedicated to ICT research.

Dr John Miller AO

Independent Board Consultant and Advisor

PhD (Monash University), Certified Practicing Accountant (CPA)

John has had considerable leadership experience in fields of education, accounting and business. He was Dean, David Syme Business School – now part of Monash Business School and Dean, Swinburne Graduate School of Management. In Accounting he was a senior partner of Hungerfords, now Pitcher Partners and Managing Partner of Pannell Kerr Forster. He is a former President of CPA Australia and of CAPA – the Confederation of Asian and Pacific Accountants.
He was awarded the AO for services to education and the community and the Australian Centenary Medal for services to Accounting, Education and the Public Sector. He is an honorary life member of CPA Australia, ICMA, the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD) and the John Button Foundation of which he is founder. His Monash PhD concerned “The Professionalisation of Accountants in Australia – Education and Training Perspectives”. John also has degrees in Commerce, Education, and Arts. John attends all board meetings as consultant and adviser to the Board, especially in the areas of Governance, Education, and Finance.